HTC ONE Hands On Review

The HTC ONE is HTC’s new flagship HTC G12 Aftermarket Flex Cable, they have reinvented their offering with an all new all aluminium gapless design, which is both beautiful to the eye and pleasing to the hand. Having used this phone everyday for two weeks, I’m pleased to present my findings.

The Look

Being placed on the top left hand side of the phone it means it can not be easily reached using one hand. This is actually surprisingly annoying at first, but after my first few hours of using it I got used to it, and it’s now no problem. This power button has a little trick up its sleeve in that it doubles as an IR blaster, yes one of those old pieces of technology that I though was long gone from mobile phones has made a come back … Except this time its actually useful, it has been coupled with some very smart software on the phone called “TV” after setting it up with your TV and cable/sky box it displays all the current TV shows on your channels, one click and the TV changes to the channel showing your programme.

When I’m walking along, or I’m on the tube, I really do not want to be using two hands to pick my next song on Spotify, or tap out a quick reply to a text message. One hand and one thumb should be all it takes. And I’m pleased to say that the HTC One has this area nailed.

On the left hand side of the phone there is a micro sim tray with eject hole. There is an eject tool supplied in the box for this purpose.

On the bottom there is a micro USB port for charging, syncing etc. Interestingly the ₤ 500 pound device is supplied without a charger, this is to help save the planet apparently.

On the front of the device the HTG12 Battery glass screen immediately catches the eye. At 4.7 inches I would say it is the perfect smartphone screen size, holding the phone in one hand, I can reach all parts of the screen with my thumb. This is something I have admired about the iPhone 5.

The aluminium casing is smooth, and has a really premium feel to it, when comparing the look and feel of my Samsung Galaxy S3 with its plastic casing against the smooth grey metal of the HTC One it is immediately clear that the HTC One is the premium phone here. From what I have seen of the Galaxy S4, I already know that Samsung’s full HD offering will not be able to compete on the look and feel front.

This leaves us with the right hand side which just contains the volume key, the volume key has a lovely premium feel to it, and even though it’s recessed, you know when your thumb is on it.

The Screen

The HTC One’s screen is full HD and crammed into just 4.7 inches giving us a retina pleasing 468ppi. The screen is unsurprisingly crisp, its bright, clear in the sunlight and provides excellent natural colour reproduction.

The Camera

Oh the camera, four whole megapixels ultra pixels. HTC have had a bit of break through with the f2.0 rear-facing camera.

When blown up to 27 inches when compared to the higher megapixel sensors, the images are not as crisp. The difference is marginal though, and the images are perfect for your phone, and Facebook uploads.

The camera has loads of scene modes, filters and the video camera has a selection of settings including slow-mo. which allows you to record video and by using the edit tool slow-mo certain sections of the video that you want to highlight. Pretty amazing.

Zoe

HTC Sense 5.0

The latest version of sense is smooth and slick. I have not encountered any HTC G12 HTC Desire S, unlike with my S3 where Samsung’s Touch Wiz loved to apologise daily because it had “stopped responding”.

Zoe is lovely; Zoe is beautiful, intelligent and clever. Zoe is a new feature on the HTC One. You can of course select the one picture from the whole sequence to use.

Blink feed

Interesting for about 50 seconds, then I reassigned my primary panel and forgot about it. A pointless addition, but nothing to worry about. Sorry HTC.

Phone Stuff

At 4.7 inches I would say it is the perfect smartphone screen size, holding the phone in one hand, I can reach all parts of the screen with my thumb. One hand and one thumb should be all it takes. And I’m pleased to say that the HTC One has this area nailed.

Being placed on the top left hand side of the phone it means it can not be easily reached using one hand. Zoe is a new feature on the HTC One.

Yes this is a phone, and it has all the modern things you would expect, phone calls, text messages etc. etc. Most importantly though it’s quick and easy to access your contacts, the phone never stutters, never locks or freezes up with you want to end your call (Unlike my S3).

Leave a Reply

